Countries of Asia (list and map; 2024)

Countries in Asia1. INTRODUCTION

#QuestionHow many countries are there in Asia?

Below you can find a list and a map with the current 48 sovereign states of this continent (2024).

I hope you find the information interesting.



  1. Afghanistan
  2. Armenia (*)
  3. Azerbaijan (*)
  4. Bahrain
  5. Bangladesh
  6. Bhutan
  7. Brunei
  8. Cambodia
  9. China
  10. Cyprus (*)
  11. East Timor
  12. Georgia (*)
  13. India
  14. Indonesia
  15. Iran
  16. Iraq
  17. Israel
  18. Japan
  19. Jordan
  20. Kazakhstan (*)
  21. Kuwait
  22. Kyrgyzstan
  23. Laos
  24. Lebanon
  25. Malaysia
  26. Maldives
  27. Mongolia
  28. Myanmar
  29. Nepal
  30. North Korea
  31. Oman
  32. Pakistan
  33. Philippines
  34. Qatar
  35. Russia (*)
  36. Saudi Arabia
  37. Singapore
  38. South Korea
  39. Sri Lanka
  40. Syria
  41. Tajikistan
  42. Thailand
  43. Turkey (*)
  44. Turkmenistan
  45. United Arab Emirates
  46. Uzbekistan
  47. Vietnam
  48. Yemen

(*) Those countries with an asterisk are geographically or politically Eurasian countries. More information [HERE].



Countries in Asia

Location of the Asian countries.



  • Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia: geographically they are Eurasian countries (located in the Caucasus, imaginary limit between Europe and Asia).
  • Cyprus: geographically, it is an Asian country2 and 3; politically it can be considered an European country (it is a member state of the European Union¹),
  • Kazakhstan: Politically, it is usually considered an Asian country2 and 3; geographically it is a Eurasian country (the majority of the country is located in Asia except for the western part located west of the Ural River).
  • Russia: politically it has influence both in Europe and in Asia (the European Union considers it a European country¹, the RSA considers it Eurasian3); geographically it has 60% of its territory in Asia.
  • Turkey: geographically the majority of the country is located in Asia with the exception of the East Thrace region; politically it can be considered an European country (it is a candidate member to join the European Union¹)



  1. European Union (2024). Member States, candidates and other European countries. Available [HERE].
  2. United Nations (2024). Geographic regions. Available [HERE].
  3. Royal Spanish Academy (2010). The Orthography of the Spanish Language. Pages 721-728. Document not available online.
  4. Saberespractico.com (2024). Países y capitales de Asia. Text in Spanish. Avaliable [HERE].
  5. D-maps.com (2019). Map with the location of all the countries in Asia. Avaliable [HERE].

Learner Trip

PhD in Education. I've been sharing all kind of content/information on the Internet for 14+ years now. I try to do it in the most straightforward and reliable way possible, cross-referencing information with the primary sources of authority in each field (unless unnecessary). You can reach out to me in the comments. I read all your inquiries and typically respond to most of them daily. If you find what I do helpful, you can support me here. 🙂




    • Taiwan is not a sovereign country; that’s why is not on the map.

  1. Show proper map of India ( specially Jammu and Kashmir and leh Ladakh u have skipped.

    • You’re welcome for the free information.

      As you can see, the map it’s simplified. It’s not topographically exact and it doesn’t need to be to serve as a resource for those wanting to see/learn the countries of Asia).

      For your personal demands, you can always leave an economic offer.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *